Dear Members,


The 2014-2015 TAPL session has begun, and I am beyond honored to be serving as the President of TAPL for the upcoming year. More importantly, I am thankful to be serving on the Board of Directors alongside such a diverse and experienced group that will certainly lead our organization through another successful year.


Our organization has grown and prospered on a continual basis over recent years, and I am a firm believer that our leadership on the board and its committees has been an integral part of that success. To that end, I would like to thank our previous board of directors on another successful year.  Last year our association established and began contributing to endowment funds for the benefit of Energy Management scholarship recipients at both Tulsa University and the University of Oklahoma. Our membership has continued to stay active philanthropically by donating to Toys For Tots and volunteering at the Community Food Bank, while our ever-popular golf tournaments allowed us to donate to local charities.  TAPL’s new website is now fully functional, allowing for the entire membership to enjoy its capabilities, efficiencies and aesthetics. Finally, our membership has grown to over six hundred, a milestone that I know we can continue to build upon.


As I mentioned earlier, none of this would have been possible if it was not for those who served on our previous Board of Directors. In turn, I would like to thank our retiring board members:  Lawson Vogel, JJ Chisholm, Dwayne Allen, Karen Laughlin, Curtis Johnson, and Jack Taylor. While we are losing some very valuable members of our group, I am certain that our new board will live up to its predecessors. Please join me in welcoming our 2014-2015 TAPL Board of Directors:


  • Robert Sher:  Past President
  • Raegan Schaffler:  Vice President
  • Andrew Grimm:  Secretary
  • Bill Holder:  Treasurer
  • Jessica Campbell:  Membership Director
  • Harriet Connolly:  Communications Director
  • Wink Kopczynski, III:  Events Director
  • Russ Hargrove:  Benefits Director
  • Stephen McNamara, Jr.:  Education Director
  • Mike Knapp:  External Affairs Director
  • Hamel Reinmiller:  AAPL Director


Our new board has already hit the ground running by preparing for a multitude of events that will occur within the next several months.   We will usher in the new session with TAPL’s 65th Anniversary Party at Cain’s Ballroom on September 5th.  Please do not forget to renew your TAPL membership so that you and your significant other can join us in the celebration.  Our skeet shoot will be held on September 26th, so please be on the lookout for the event’s registration and sponsorship opportunities.  And last but certainly not least, mark your calendars for our TAPL Fall Golf Tournament on October 13th at Meadowbrook Country Club. This event is a members-only event, so do not delay your membership registration/renewal process.  We are also raising money for our TU and OU Endowment Funds, and we would appreciate your generosity at our upcoming contribution opportunities.


As you can tell, our association has a lot in store for our membership this year, and I hope you are as excited about these events as we are. I could not be more thankful to our volunteers who help make these events possible. If you are interested in becoming more involved in TAPL and its many committees, or if you have any questions, suggestions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me or the other members of our board.  I’ll see you at Cain’s on 9/5.




Collin J. Sniff

TAPL President